I have never let dyslexia define me….. I have always believed that you can do anything you want to do if you set your mind to it. I am passionate about everything I do and always give 100%, I go out of my way to help others and strive to make a difference not only in my life but also in that of others and the world we live in.
I have never understood the half-hearted approach, to be successful you have to give everything you have.


I grew up with 2 older brothers and a younger sister, in a family of professional cyclists so sports and competition were in my blood from a young age. Growing up with two older brothers gave me a lot of resilience which I never thought I would appreciate later in life. Often had to get my elbows out to get to the biscuit tin whilst shouting “LADIES FIRST!!!”. But we always supported each other and cared for one another,  something that has continued as we have gotten older too. 

Sports played a big part in our lives, at the age of 7 I was riding a bike at the velodrome following in my family’s footsteps of Olympic and World champion cyclists, however, I soon realised that 2 wheels were not my passion, that passion was in horse riding which I took up alongside my sister with our mum fully supporting us. 

Sports taught me how to be competitive but also humble, as a family we gave it 100% and always strived to win, and do our best, however on the occasions when we were not victorious we were taught to be humble and gracious offering congratulations and support to those who were. Sports encouraged me to always self-reflect and always improve my performance.

Early life

Whilst at school I naturally did better at more practical subjects as I have dyslexia. This was something that during my school years, I did my best to hide as I didn’t want to be considered “different” to my peers.  I found many coping mechanisms and ways to adapt so that I could manage. It still sticks with me when my Geography teacher found it hilarious that I had written something phonetically, unaware that I had written a rude word. At a very influential age, I was so embarrassed. I then decided to choose subjects at A Level that I would enjoy mainly practical subjects but I also found enjoyment in Psychology.

I attended  Plymouth University to study Equine Psychology and Behaviour, This was a great way to combine my passion for horses, and loved the challenge of understanding the psychology of an animal that can only communicate with body language. 

Guru Career

During Sixth form to maintain my hobby I found myself having to work almost every evening in a call centre, This was where I discovered how much I enjoyed helping people, solving problems, and working hard as part of a team. This was the start of my sales journey and it taught me so much and for that, I will always be very grateful.

Post University for 9 years I worked in customer service for a global company, progressing my way into a team leader position at a young age. It was at this point I really embraced my dyslexia and this is very much down to a lady who visited my company to share her knowledge and views on diversity in the workplace and how different people and skills create a great team.

It was at this stage in my life I realised that If I could help others by standing up and saying I am proudly dyslexic and supporting/talking to others about coping mechanisms, fantastic technologies, and a safe space to talk that I could help others in similar situations to then succeed and be the best version of themselves. I have been fortunate to work for companies that have supported me and provided me with technologies to enable me to succeed at my job. 

I decided I needed a new challenge in my life and I moved to Inside Sales within my existing company in the security space, I think this was the point I was grateful for having older brothers as this set me up for working in a male-dominated industry and helped me develop my sales skills. 

My career then evolved into sales and account management as I knew I enjoyed helping people and was passionate about products that can assist people to make a difference. This is what led me into the energy industry and I have been fortunate to progress my sales career in the industry over the last 10 years. 

Current Role

I joined Guru Systems 2 years ago. After I met the team I knew I wanted to work with these passionate people who had a drive for sustainability. The main objectives of Guru aligned with my moral compass and if I’m honest I love geeking out on the data and spotting areas for improvement or seeing where we have made a difference.

I enjoy working with clients and customers who have similar drives to mine, forging forward to improve carbon reduction for future generations and also providing their customers with great service. 

Personal Interests

Most of my hobbies involve the great outdoors, countryside and animals.

Whilst being very family orientated, I also have a menagerie of animals including a dog, cats, horses and previously chickens, they are all like family! Most of which are rescues as I love to give some love and care to animals that need help. This has been so rewarding over the years.

I currently care for 6 horses ranging from 1 – 35 years old (enjoying his retirement) with the help of my very understanding husband. I spend my time outside of work caring for them as well as competing up and down the country at national and county-level competitions. I also help my close friend with all of their young horses and as well as competing with them I do all the handling of them at a very young age to provide them with a good foundation and education for the rest of their lives  (my degree has helped with this). 

We were fortunate enough to buy a small house with land and stables for the horses in 2017 which also had a large orchard containing plums, greengages, Quinces and approximately 30 varieties of cider apples and Beehives! This has encouraged us to learn about maintaining orchards and utilising the produce we grow such as honey and cider. Maintaining the land and orchard is a project in itself, but the peace this brings to a fast-paced life is fantastic for our well-being.

I also enjoy many hobbies such as hiking, mountain biking, and kayaking… ok mainly the ones that involve a break at a pub mid-activity. I often combine these with a camping holiday with friends and family. 

Having many nieces and nephews whom we are very close with has enabled us to combine many of these hobbies with our family. The nieces and nephews often ask if they can come and spend time with us on the farm helping us do jobs, or go for bike rides or other crazy activities that they fancy doing.

Future Goals

Personal goals, our one-day dream would be to build a passive standard house. I love researching new technologies available. I’m a big believer in having a good work-life balance with continuing lots of hobbies. 

Professionally, I am very driven to exceed and smash targets. Providing our customers with the best products and services to ensure they meet their sustainability targets.

Contact details

  • Work number: 07596 861727
  • Linkedin